Welcome!

Hello! Welcome to My Ideal Studio! Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Juliana and I was born in Hong Kong, but have lived most of my life here in Vancouver. I love drinking hot chocolate and reading any material early in the morning; however, I mostly enjoy reading children’s books and my horoscope in the newspaper. If I were to pick a time period to live in, I would choose the Victorian era  where I can wear elaborate clothing and travel to Paris to witness the beginning of impressionist art .

Currently, I am a student in the IDEA program at Capilano University. What brought me to the IDEA program was my dream of becoming an illustrator. With that goal in mind, I started looking for schools in Vancouver that specialized in illustration. One day, I stumbled across the Capilano University viewbook and what captivated me about the viewbook was the beautifully illustrated cover. Inspired, I flipped through the viewbook and discovered the IDEA program. Later, I went on the program’s website and saw some amazing illustrations and designs produced by the students in the program. And so, I decided to apply to the IDEA program and, to cut a long story short, I got accepted!

A few of my favourite illustrators that inspires me the most are Shaun Tan and Oliver Jeffers. For Shaun Tan, I just love his imaginative illustrations and dreamlike storyline. As for Oliver Jeffers, I adore his simple, distinctive and humorous illustration style . Below are some examples of their work:

The Lost Thing, By Shaun Tan

Hueys- It wasn’t me – By Oliver Jeffers

At this point, I want to congratulate and thank you for reading my first post. I will be writing more posts soon later in the future. So, stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

